Spiritual Growth

Getting Back Into God’s Word… One Step at a Time

Hello Ladies (and gents if you read this)!

I am finally writing another post after months of nothing!! I have had an incredibly crazy work schedule for months and just recently after taking a 2 month medical leave, I am finally at a place where I can write again. It’s been too long. I’ve missed being able to share what I have learned or what has been on my heart. 

This past year has been a long one. Full of many good things, but also hard as I continued to get more and more caught up in my work schedule (I work two jobs). Seven days a week I worked, some half days, some full days (9am-12am). It was exhausting physically as you can imagine, but I also became exhausted spiritually. I had no time with God. The days that I was able to, I felt lost opening up my Bible. It had basically become a foreign object to me. When my girls (the ones I volunteer with at my school) would ask me questions about Christ or needed prayer for anything, my mind would completely blank since I had no idea how to answer. I couldn’t remember what God’s Word said. It was a humiliating, frustrating, and tiring season. I just wanted it to end but I couldn’t find a way to do so.

Anyway, long story short, I ended up having to go on medical leave this past couple months because I needed surgery on my foot. It’s funny that when God asks for your time and you can’t seem to find a way to make it happen, He completely opens up time to do so. It’s been a pretty rocky last few months though. I wish I could tell you I hopped right into God’s Word right away and spending time with him, but it’s like starting a new season of a sport. It’s a bit rocky at first, but you eventually get the hang of it again. You have to get in shape first before you can really play the game. 

I have no idea where you guys are at in your lives. Whatever the case, I would love to encourage you to never stop trying to get that quality time with God in your lives daily. Even on the days where it feels like pulling teeth… DO IT. You will never regret it at all! There are many different tools to get you to be able to just open your Bible (if you’re anything like me and feel lost just by holding it in your hands).

Jesus Calling” is huge. I personally haven’t read it, but people have shared it with me and it sounds incredible. That is my next devotional that I will be going through.

There’s an app called “Girlfriends In God.” I have that app and it’s been a huge encouragement in my life. They have incredible messages.

Another thing that I just started doing is called “#FIRST15” in our youth (probably because it’s supposed to be the first 15 min of your day? Not sure. I’m pretty sure missed the shpeal on wed night). #FIRST15 is a reading list of passages for 31 days. It has you read 5 Psalm books and 1 Proverbs chapter per day (i.e. Psalm 1, 31, 61, 91, 121, Prov. 1 for day 1). It’s a great starting tool to get your Bible open and spending time with God. I’ve been using that and then moving on to whatever other place in the Bible I feel led to (or recall and want to read again). It’s HUGE. If you were to do any of these, I would encourage you to start here.

Alright, I am drawing a blank on any other ways to get you back into God’s Word. If I can think of anymore I will update this post. Also, let me know if you have any other ideas! I’d love to hear your thoughts! I know I am not the only one with answers we all have questions to, so if you have anything you’d like to or can share, please do!

 

I am still at the training stage in getting back into God’s Word. It’s a slow climb, but it’s been refreshing and encouraging. I’m already seeing a difference God has made in my life. I am sure the same will happen in your life as well. Keep striving, keep seeking, and keep knocking on the door to God’s presence. You will never regret the path God has in store for you if you do. 

God bless you all immensely in everything you do.
~ Woman of Purity

Leave a comment